

## TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER Senate Resolution 24.11

(Stating the sentiments of the TTUHSC Student Senate regarding congratulating Dr. John C. DeToledo on his appointment as the Dean of the TTUHSC School of Medicine)

WHEREAS, Dr. DeToledo has been a dedicated leader within the TTUHSC community for over fifteen years, exemplifying steadfast commitment and exceptional service; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. DeToledo has proven to be an influential leader in medicine, as well as a dedicated teacher, mentor, and friend to the TTUHSC community, positively impacting the lives of countless individuals; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. DeToledo embodies the TTUHSC value of "beyond service" by championing inclusion, well being, empowerment, and success of all; and,

WHEREAS, Since 2009, he has done so as the founding chair for the TTUHSC Department of Neurology, showcasing his dedication to academic medicine; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. DeToledo promotes the TTUHSC value of "kindhearted" by treating others with respect and actively listening to feedback from both students and faculty; and,

WHEREAS, His actions reflect his genuine intentions, and he has been listed in Castle Connelly as one of the region's Best Doctors for eight consecutive years; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. DeToledo reflects the TTUHSC value of "visionary" by his continued commitment to the research and development of treatments in the field of neurology; and,

WHEREAS, His extensive contributions to epilepsy research, evidenced by over 50 publications and his involvement on editorial boards for journals and various organizations, demonstrate his dedication to innovation and advancement in neurology; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. DeToledo fosters the TTUHSC value of "one team" having been an active teacher, mentor, and clinician within the TTUHSC community; and,

WHEREAS, He has trained over 50 epilepsy and neurophysiology specialists, and has been honored with the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center University Distinguished Professor in recognition of his outstanding teaching contributions; and,

WHEREAS, Dr. DeToledo demonstrated exemplary leadership and adaptability as Acting Dean of the School of Medicine from December 2021 through February 2022 and as Interim Dean beginning in May 2023; and,

WHEREAS, In these roles, he navigated challenges with resilience and foresight, advocating for student success and faculty advancement, ensuring continued growth for the TTUHSC community; and, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Student Senate of TTUHSC congratulates Dr. DeToledo on his outstanding leadership, continued service to the TTUHSC community, and appointment to the position of Dean of the TTUHSC School of Medicine; and therefore,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be spread upon the Journal and that copies be sent to Lori Rice Spearman Ph.D., President of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; Darrin D'Agostino, D.O., MPH, MBA., Provost and Chief Academic Officer; John **DeToledo M.D.**, School of Medicine Dean; Bryce McGregor, MBA, Interim Executive Vice President of Clinical Affairs, President's Cabinet; Billy U. Philips, Jr., PHD, MPH, Executive Vice President, F, Marie Hall Institute for Rural and Community Health, President's Cabinet; Ronald Cook D.O., Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Chief Health Officer Charity **Donaldson**, School of Medicine Dean Executive Associate, Simon Williams PhD, Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Michaela Jansen Pharm.D., PhD, Associate Dean for Medical Education and Accreditation, Ebtesam Islam MD, PhD, Associate Dean for Clinical Medicine, Samuel Campbell MD, Assistant Dean for Clinical Sciences, Neha Mittal MD, Assistant Dean for Phase 3 Curriculum, Jongyeol Kim MD, Assistant Dean for Educational Technology, Jo Ann Armstrong, Managing Director for Academic Affairs, Brian Weis MD, **PhD,** Amarillo Regional Dean School of Medicine, **Timothy Benton MD**, Permian Basin Regional Dean School of Medicine, Jennifer Wilson MD, Assistant Vice Dean Covenant Campus, Arianna Flores, Editor-in-Chief of The Daily Toreador, and to the students of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Authors:

Burns, Esther

Schackmuth, Bennett

Horne, Sarah Neal

Mallik, Avantika

Sanders, Taylor

Tonk, Sahil

Colon Diaz, Nannette

Hayek, Alexander

Chaturvedi, Dhwaani

Alam, Faiad

Jennifer Borunda

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES CENTER

Passed the Senate, 5 November 2024

June Bymnet

Jesse Burnett
President, Student Government Association

CC: Journal