OUR LEADERSHIP

John C. DeToledo M.D.

DEAN, SCHOOL OF MEDICINE, EXECUTIVE VICE-PRESIDENT FOR CLINICAL AFFAIRS

Dr. John C. DeToledo began serving as the Founding Chair of the Department of Neurology at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Medicine in Lubbock April 1, 2009. He received his M.D. degree from Sao Paulo Medical School in 1980, and completed an internship in medicine at Columbia University and Neurology training at Boston University and the Boston City Hospital. He completed his fellowship in Epilepsy and Neurophysiology at the Oregon Comprehensive Epilepsy Program and stayed as the Cornelia Wheeler Division Chief of Epilepsy until 1992. Dr. DeToledo moved to George Washington University where he became chief of the Division of Epilepsy and Neurophysiology and the Neurology Residency Program Director. In 1995 he moved to Riyadh to help establish the Epilepsy Program at the King Faisal Specialist Hospital and in 1996, prior to moving to the University of Miami to serve as the Co-Director of the International Center for Epilepsy. In 2005 he moved to Wake Forest University as the Chief of Epilepsy and Neurophysiology and the Chief of the MagnetoEncelephalography Laboratory. In 2009 he was selected for the Vernon & Elizabeth Haggerton Chair of Neurology at TTUHSC. The office of the President named him Dean of the School of Medicine in March of 2024, he had previously served as Acting Dean from December 2021-February 2022 and Interim Dean in May 2023 – February 2024.

Dr. DeToledo's research has been focused on the pharmacology and treatments for epilepsy. He is the author of numerous publications and has been a visiting professor and lecturer nationally and internationally in the field of epilepsy and the pharmacology of new antiepileptic drugs. He has been on the editorial boards of journals and has served on and chaired numerous conferences in the US and abroad.

In addition to his scientific efforts, Dr. DeToledo has been an active clinician, teacher, and mentor. He has trained over 50 epilepsy and neurophysiology specialists. Dr. DeToledo has been listed in Castle Connelly as one of the region's Best Doctors for eight consecutive years and was the recipient of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center University Distinguished Professor. Dr. DeToledo has served on the scientific advisory boards of several pharmaceutical companies and the prestigious J. Kiffin Penry Epilepsy Minifellowship Program. At Texas Tech, he chaired the Medical Practice Income Plan and served as the Chief of Staff at the University Medical Center.

Felix G. Morales, M.D.

ASSOCIATE DEAN OF ADMISSIONS, TTUHSC SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

Dr. Morales has served as the Associate Dean since April 2017. He previously was named the Assistant Dean in August 2016. He is a graduate of the TTUHSC School of Medicine. He completed his Family Medicine residency training at Texas Tech as well. During his residency, Dr. Morales served as the chief resident.

Dr. Morales has been on faculty at Texas Tech since April 2012. He also serves as Tenured Professor for the Department of Family and Community Medicine. He is board-certified by the American Board of Family Medicine. He is a member of the American Academy of Family Physicians and the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine. He has multiple roles in the school of medicine which include serving on various committees for Texas Tech and teaching in the FMAT program.

Dr. Morales still has an active medical practice that serves the families of Lubbock and the surrounding West Texas communities. His practice includes the care of newborn, obstetric, adult, and geriatric patients. Dr. Morales also serves as the faculty advisor for the Latino Medical Student Association and was the founding member of the Bernard Harris Pre-Med Society at Texas Tech University. He loves to teach and provides mentorship for many medical students and residents.

OUR LEADERSHIP

Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D.

PRESIDENT. TTUHSC

Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., is the ninth president of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and the first female president in the Texas Tech University System.

She joined TTUHSC in 1987 and has held multiple leadership positions during her tenure with the university. Most recently, Dr. Rice-Spearman served as provost and chief academic officer, appointed in October 2019; the following month, she agreed to serve concurrently as interim president. From 2016 to 2019, Dr. Rice-Spearman was dean of the School of Health Professions and served concurrently as the university's associate provost, beginning in 2018. Dr. Rice-Spearman also served the school as associate dean for Learning Outcomes and Assessments and chair of the Department of Laboratory Sciences and Primary Care.

Dr. Rice-Spearman has numerous publications in peer-reviewed journals and is recognized nationally as an innovator in health professions education. She has served as an accreditation reviewer and site visitor for the National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences and the Commission on Accreditation for Physical Therapy Education. She is an alumna of the School of Health Professions' first class in the Clinical Laboratory Sciences program and earned her master's and Ph.D. from Texas Tech University.